Aussie Aviatrix Quilt-a-Long Border Four: Meeting Debra from Stitching Rules

How did you go with the X-Plus blocks?  I tried chain piecing mine and got all in a dither!  I laid them out and took a photo of each one; I’m so glad I did because I had to refer to each one of them at least once.

Meanwhile I’ve had to go back to Border Two and completely re-do it as my ¼” foot wasn’t accurate and thus it didn’t fit.  I’m not happy at all about that but accuracy is king.

This week, we’ve got some relatively simple squares for a bit of a break.  Be sure not to stretch the strips as you sew them though!

I’m very excited today to introduce you to Debra from Stitching Rules.  You’ll remember from one of last week’s post that Debra and I have recently joined Rachael from Sew Today, Clean Tomorrow in collaborating together on an exciting Facebook group, The Sew Quilty Workshop.  We some really fun projects planned, so if are a beginner/intermediate quilter/sew-person and would like to join us, please do.  We’d love to have you.

I love Debra’s version of the quilt; she’s using muted yellows, greens and blues coupled with neutral greys which work perfectly together.

So without further ado, let’s meet her….

1. Tell us a bit about you?

I live in Brisbane, Queensland with my three sons (10, 7 and 4).  As a first born Virgo I can be a bit of a perfectionist, but am learning to let that go as the years go by. Life’s too short to NOT do what you really want to do and my personal motto is “Just Do It”. My background is in fashion sewing and I’ve worked as a pattern maker, grader, sample maker and machinist in made to order bridal, maternity wear and children’s wear. While I was having my family I worked in a soft furnishings workroom sewing for top end interior decorators and designers.

Hexie Dress by Debra @ Stitching Rules

Hexie Dress – a ‘challenge-to-self’

2. When did you start quilting?

I resisted the quilting side for a long time but it was the fabric that drew me in and when I came across a jelly roll in deep jewel colours I knew I was weakening. So I made my first quilt in 2009.

3. Tells us about your first quilt?

It was a simple design where you sew all the jelly roll strips together then cut and re arrange them with plain bands in between. The quilting is basic “stitch in the ditch” but it gets used through winter so I’d say it was a success.

Debra's First Quilt

Debra’s First Quilt

4. What’s your favourite part of the quilt-making process?

The anticipation and planning! I think of it like building a puzzle, so seeing each block or panel come together is rewarding. Lately I’ve been practising my hand quilting and I have to say I like it a lot!

5. What project are you currently working on?

Apart from the Aviatrix quilt I’m working on items for the Aussie Handmade Birthday Swap and am in the midst of hand quilting a mini for the December birthday girl. There’s also a women’s skirt pattern I’ve been working on for a while and hope to have it ready for testers early in the new year.

Home Sweet Home - Made by Debra @ Stitching Rules for the Aussie Handmade Birthday Club

Home Sweet Home – Made by for the Aussie Handmade Birthday Club

6. When did you start blogging?

I’ve dabbled with blogs for a while, but early this year I was thinking about what sort of blogs I would have liked to read when I was a beginner sewist. From there I started Stitching Rules where I share tips, tutorials and information for people wanting to learn beyond the beginner stage of sewing.

Brisbane - Made for the Brisbane MQG stand at the 2014 Brisbane Craft and Quilt Fair

Brisbane – Made for the Brisbane MQG stand at the 2014 Brisbane Craft and Quilt Fair

7. What do you love about blogging?

I love the idea of chatting to my “tribe” – the ones out there who I’d not normally meet in real life, but share the same passions as I do about fashion, sewing and coming up with new ideas.

8. What’s next for you – where do you see yourself in two years’ time (whichever you feel like answering)?

In two years’ time I’d like to have a selection of my dressmaking patterns available for download via Craftsy and Etsy. I’d like to find ways to incorporate quilting techniques into fashion sewing and be inspiring others to design and sew for themselves.

9. Where can we find you? (FB, Instagram etc.)

Instagram – http://instagram.com/verydebra

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/StitchingRules

Blog – http://stitchingrules.com

Until next week, happy quilting.

One thought on “Aussie Aviatrix Quilt-a-Long Border Four: Meeting Debra from Stitching Rules

  1. Pingback: Aviatrix QAL Border 4 | Stitching Rules

Thank you for your comments; I appreciate them and read all of them.

